The Marriage Lie by Ali Mercer Reviewed by Guest Blogger Alicia Ulberg @AlisonLMercer @bookouture 📚Release Day May 28, 2021📚

Fourteen years ago Stella did something she has regretted ever since. But she did it for her daughter. Now, that mistake could mean she loses her precious girl forever…

Stella follows her handsome husband Rob to the beautifully laid-out table in the restaurant he’s chosen specially for her fortieth birthday lunch. As the waiter pops the champagne, Rob proposes a toast and their crystal glasses clink together in celebration. Stella knows how they must look to anyone watching. Two people very much in love, with the perfect marriage and the perfect life.

But Rob is about to drop a bombshell on Stella. He wants a divorce.

If she doesn’t agree to his plan – to sell the house, divide the money and award him full custody of fourteen-year-old Georgie – he will tell their innocent daughter the one secret he promised to keep and that Stella has worked so hard to protect her from.

Stella has a choice to make. To fight for her daughter, there is only one person she can turn to for help. A woman she hasn’t spoken to in over a decade. But to do it means facing up to her biggest regret, and risks losing Georgie forever, once she learns the truth…

An absolutely heart-breaking and gripping novel about the price of keeping a secret. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kate Hewitt and Susan Lewis will be gripped by this emotional family drama from the very first page.

By Alicia Ulberg

I mean really…how could you not get hooked in the first chapter. “The only way to stay sane – as I often reminded myself – was to be grateful for what you had. I had been lucky. I had got what I wanted. It was just that, one way or another, there was a price to be paid. But then, you couldn’t expect to gain your heart’s desire for free…”

Ali Mercer takes the concept of marriage and throws in every possible monkey wrench you could think of. Secrets and lies are at the forefront of this book. The beginning chapters are a bit long but as the book continues they get a little shorter and this book becomes a quick read. Ali Mercer keeps you intrigued throughout the entire book and has you thinking that not one character is innocent. What did Stella do to make her husband Rob hate her so much and fall into the arms of another woman? What is the deal with her baby sister Molly and why is she the outcast of the family? I highly recommend you read this book to find out this and so much more!!!

But your copy here on Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s