Ten Days (Previously titled- Invisible Victim) by Mel Sherratt @MelSherratt @Bookouture Release date 6-28-21



‘Let me out! Please!’ I shouted, banging on the door. How had I got here? What day was it? I couldn’t remember anything. But I knew I had become the fifth woman to be abducted.

As my eyes adjust to the darkness, I’m filled with dread. Everything looks just like the others described: a small hole in the door, a mattress and a narrow window allowing only a small chink of light. The jewellery given to me by my loving husband has gone and I’m in someone else’s clothes.

Just days before, I had interviewed the third victim for the local paper. She couldn’t stop shaking. Her story was the same as those before her: an ordinary woman, locked away for ten days then released with no explanation, and nothing – nothing she could think of – to link her to the others. Throughout the ordeal, her abductor stayed eerily silent.

I tell myself I’ll be safe in ten days. But I can’t help thinking of the fourth victim who is still missing. And then I hear the voice coming through the door. ‘You said everything would be fine. But it wasn’t was it?’ It is then that I realise. If I am to make it out alive, I need to revisit a dark secret of my own that I have spent a lifetime trying to forget.

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll, T.M. Logan and C.L. Taylor.

My Review

“She couldn’t deny the truth any longer. She was the fifth woman to be abducted.”

Eva is a Journalist who has been writing about all the women who have been abducted lately. Is that why she has now been abducted too? Is there another reason? What could it be? Will she be released on day 10 like all of the other women, except Jill? Her friend Jill, poor Jill. What actually happened to Jill, and is she still alive? It will take you on a journey to discover how and why all the women are connected to each other and their kidnapper. Mel Sherratt will blindside you about halfway through the book. It is a curveball that you won’t see coming but it will keep you on your toes for the remainder of the book. I would like to thank both Netgalley and Bookouture for the ARC in exchange for an honest review

#bookouture, #bookobsession4, #twogirlsandabookobsession, #psychologicalthriller, #InvisibleVictim

Mel Sherratt

My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas – fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh. To date, I’ve sold 1.7 million books. All sixteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10 and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles. My latest psychological thriller, INVISIBLE VICTIM is on preorder for 28th June 2021. THE ESTATE SERIES is a mix of psychological suspense and family life with a sprinkling of grit and a dash of menace – where drama meets crime. There are four books, available individually or the first three as a box set. THE LIES YOU TELL is a standalone psychological thriller, and my first novel set in London. I wanted to write about a character who was nice to everyone using one persona but out for revenge with another side to her that she tries to keep hidden away. The reader knows exactly what she is up to – but not the reason why. WATCHING OVER YOU is another standalone psychological thriller. It’s dark in places, light in places, disturbing in places too – where obsession and friendship turn into murder. The DETECTIVE ALLIE SHENTON TRILOGY starts with TAUNTING THE DEAD. It’s part police procedural/part psychological thriller. The next in the series is FOLLOW THE LEADER and finally, ONLY THE BRAVE. My latest police procedural offering features DS Grace Allendale, HUSH HUSH being the first one, TICK TOCK the second, LIAR LIAR the third and the final one to finish the series, GOOD GIRL. There are two books about DS EDEN BERRISFORD. She works in a community intelligence team and helps to gather information and intel for investigations. THE GIRLS NEXT DOOR is the first book, followed by DON’T LOOK BEHIND YOU. These books are based in the same setting as THE ESTATE SERIES. I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website http://www.melsherratt.co.uk or I’m on Twitter at @writermels

Buy Here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s