The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn ~ Release Day 1-2-18 @AJFinnBooks @WmMorrowBooks

~ “My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

~ “I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

At the bottom of this review are the links to buy and read what others think about this book. I tell you this now because I guarantee you will want this book!!

Our thoughts… WOW! Crazy awesome! Insanely thrilling! Nail bitingly twisty!

We quickly grew fond of Anna Fox. She seems to have lived a hard life. As a parent, her situation might tug on your heart strings even more! Any mother would have a hard time imagining having a young daughter and the heartache you would feel if she wasn’t able to live with you.

The traumatic experience of separating from her husband and living alone has caused child psychologist Anna Fox, to become recluse; agoraphobic at its worst. She hasn’t left the house in almost a year, drinks heavily, and self medicates. She passes her time by keeping a close eye on her new neighbors, the Russell’s.

After their teenage son comes over to introduce himself, she begins to grow fond of his good nature and admires his hard work ethic and determination. But warnings from Mr. Russell to stay away from their family makes Anna worry about his safety. One day Anna witnesses something happen from her window in her flat as she stares across to the Russell’s flat! It was enough to force her out of her comfort zone!!

The thing is…NOTHING is as it seems in this story. As one crazy twist is revealed another is waiting in the balance. With each new revelation, it is hard not to think “how did I miss that”? We love a book that continues to surprise us right up to the end! Whew!!! What a crazy ride on the psychological thriller roller coaster!!!

A.J. Finn has written a homerun of a thriller and this book has definitely lived up to its hype!

I’m A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW — a debut novel that Stephen King describes as “remarkable” and I call “the best I could do.” Guess which quote appears on the jacket.

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW has been sold in 40 territories around the world and is currently in development as a major film at Fox 2000, to be produced by Oscar winner Scott Rudin and written by Pulitzer winner Tracy Letts. I really want a cameo in the movie, in case anyone asks.

I spent a decade working in publishing in both New York and London, with a particular emphasis on thrillers and mysteries. Authors I published or helped acquire over the years include Robert Galbraith (aka J. K. Rowling), Agatha Christie, Patricia Cornwell, Carl Hiaasen, Sara Paretsky, and Nelson DeMille.

Now I write full-time, to the relief of my former colleagues. THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW was inspired by a range of experiences: my lifelong love affair with suspense fiction, from the Sherlock Holmes stories I devoured as a kid to the work of Patricia Highsmith, whom I studied at the graduate level at Oxford; my passion for classic cinema, especially the films of Alfred Hitchcock; and my struggles with agoraphobia and depression. The result, I hope, is a psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Kate Atkinson, among others.

Stuff I love: reading; swimming; cooking; dogs; ice cream; travel. (Note that third semicolon. It’s crucial. I do not love cooking dogs.) Given the chance, I’d seriously consider cloning my late yellow Labrador, Tugboat (2001-2012) — one of history’s few truly perfect creations. I collect first-edition books and divide my time between New York and London.

AMAZON | GOODREADS

Follow A.J. Finn TWITTER

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s