The Child in the Photo by Kerry Wilkinson ~ Release Day 6-14-21 @Bookouture @KerryWK #blogtour

Description

I stare at the newspaper article about a baby snatched from the back of a car thirty years ago, and wonder why someone would post it through my door. Looking closer, my blood freezes. The little girl in the photo has an unusual scar – just like mine. I’ve never met anyone with one like it. Is this stolen child… me?

Trembling with shock, I know I have to confront my mother. My parents got me through a horrific accident, helped me find a job I love teaching art, and even with buying my own house. But was it all built on lies?

She tells me the day I was born was the best day of her life, and I’m flooded with guilt for questioning her – but why do I catch her burning papers in the garden the next day?

Then I come home to find a woman sitting on my doorstep, covered in bruises and claiming she knows who abducted me. I don’t know if I can trust her – or if I’ll be the next to get hurt.

Because all the while, I’ve been hiding my own secret. Does whoever sent the article know what really happened the day of my accident? Desperate for the truth, I break into the house of my supposed kidnapper. Inside, I find a handwritten list of names. A shiver goes down my spine as I realise wasn’t the only child to be stolen.

Then I hear a key in the lock, and I know my life is in terrible danger…

An absolutely addictive read that will have you racing through the pages and questioning everything you thought you knew about your family. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.

Our Review

“THE BAD THING” What??? When you read a book and it keeps referring to “the bad thing,” you wonder what it could possibly be.

Like Hope says..

“All I wanted was to be like everyone else.”

What is the “like everyone” else that she strives to be?

“All the best lies are based on truth”.

Now you know that you are in for a whirlwind of an experience in a book. To top it off, everyone in Hope’s life seems to have betrayed her in some way! Everyone should be able to count on their own mother. Why does it appear that she is harboring secrets? Secrets that could possibly make Hope question everything about her life… her very existence!

“The biggest lies are built on the smallest.”

Readers will be in awe as Kerry Wilkinson takes you through a few months in the life of Hope, or is she really Jane? Was Hope adopted, sold and/or stolen? If you are looking for a good page turner The Child in the Photo is definitely what you’ll want to read!

Check out more blog reviews! #blogtour
Kelly Wilkinson
Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson is from the English county of Somerset but has spent far too long living in the north. It’s there that he’s picked up possibly made-up regional words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’. He pretends to know what they mean.

He’s also been busy since turning thirty: his Jessica Daniel crime series has sold more than a million copies in the UK; he has written a fantasy-adventure trilogy for young adults; a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter and the standalone thriller, Down Among The Dead Men.

Buy it HERE

Author Website

Twitter

Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s